h1

My Top 10 Favorite Denzel Washington Movies

April 3, 2007

Denzel Washington has long been one of my favorite actors. Rarely does he make a film that is not enjoyable in some way. Here’s a list of my top 10 favorite Denzel movies:


philidelphia.jpg10. Philidelphia

From imdb.com: When a man with AIDS is fired by a conservative law firm because of his condition, he hires a homophobic small time lawyer as the only willing advocate for a wrongful dismissal suit.

I haven’t seen Philidelphia for years, but I still remember it as a great film. Tom Hanks won the “Best Actor” award for this one, as well. It’s a depressing film, but it’s also one that everyone should see.


hurricane.jpg9. The Hurriance

From imdb.com: The story of Rubin “Hurricane” Carter, a boxer wrongly imprisoned for murder, and the people who aided in his fight to prove his innocence.

I absolutely loved this film when I saw it. I haven’t seen it since that day in the theater, but I still have great memories of it. There were some stories to how true it followed the actual events, but none-the-less it was a great film. Denzel was nominated for Best Actor, although he didn’t win. A great story, and one of the better boxing-related films that I’ve seen.


rememberthetitansdvdcover.jpg8. Remember The Titans

From imdb.com: The true story of a newly appointed African-American coach and his high school team on their first season as a racially integrated unit.

Another in a long line of great Football films, this one ranks near the top of my list. Denzel is excellent in this film. It also starred up-and-comers Ryan Gosling, Kate Bosworth and Kip Pardue, who were all great in their roles.


antwone_fisher_verdvd.jpg7. Antwone Fisher

From imdb.com: Antwone Fisher, a young navy man, is forced to see a psychiatrist after a violent outburst against a fellow crewman. During the course of treatment a painful past is revealed and a new hope begins.

A great drama that also stars the “next” Denzel, Derek Luke. It’s not one of the most well-known Denzel films, but it is one of the better ones. It’s a very powerful film that I definitely recommend if you haven’t seen it yet.


fallen.jpg6. Fallen

From imbd.com: Homicide detective John Hobbes witnesses the execution of serial killer Edgar Reese. Soon after the execution the killings start again, and they are very similar to Reese’s style.

Denzel doesn’t do a lot of supernatural films, so this is a bit of a fresh change from the usual dramatic roles he usually has. After watching this film, the Rolling Stones’ “Time is on my side” will have a whole new meaning to you.


manonfire.jpg5. Man On Fire

From imbd.com: In Mexico City, a former assassin swears vengeance on those who committed an unspeakable act against the family he was hired to protect.

Man On Fire was directed by Tony Scott, a guy who’s style I love. It’s a dark action film, and along with Denzel, stars Dakota Fanning, Christopher Walken and Marc Anthony.


inside-man-dvd.jpg4. Inside Man

From imdb.com: A cop has to talk down a bank robber after the criminal’s perfect heist spirals into a hostage situation.

The most recently made Denzel film that I’ve seen also stars one of my other favorite actors, Clive Owen. It’s an excellent “heist” film. Although I find Clive Owen outshines Denzel quite a bit in this role, Denzel is still great. One of my favorite films of 2006.


johnq.jpg3. John Q

From imbd.com: A down-on-his luck father, whose insurance won’t cover his son’s heart transplant, takes the hospital’s emergency room hostage until the doctors agree to perform the operation.

John Q has always been one of my favorite movies. It has the perfect mix of drama and suspense, and is an extremely entertaining film from start to finish.


hegotgame.jpg2. He Got Game

From imbd.com: A basketball player’s father must try to convince him to go to a college so he can get a shorter sentence.

He Got Game has been one of my favorite films since the day I first saw it. It’s easily my all-time favorite Basketball film, and the best one ever made in my opinion. Denzel is excellent, and gives such a great performance. It’s a movie a lot of people have forgot about, and if you haven’t seen it, or even haven’t seen it lately, I highly suggest checking it out.


training_day_dvd.jpg1. Training Day

From imdb.com: On his first day on the job as a narcotics officer, a rookie cop works with a rogue detective who isn’t what he appears as.

I love Denzel is “bad guy” roles, and his character in Training Day is one of the “baddest” of all-time. His role as Alonzo in this film is one of my favorite movie bad guys. Denzel is outstanding in Training Day and easily deserved his “Best Actor” award at the 2002 Academy Awards.

5 comments

  1. Training Day is such a great movie. Good pick at no.1. I haven’t seen your no.2 and no.3. I had heard that John Q was formulaic so I never bothered with it. I will give it a chance if you thought it was better than Philadelphia and Fallen. Inside Man was incredible as well. I think Spike Lee’s last two movies have moved him up into a class of mainstream directing where he is competitive with the very best.

    I don’t know that Denzel deserved best actor for Training Day. He deserved and Oscar but he wasn’t in the leading role in that movie. There were some heavy politics involved but it was a great performance, even if he was in the supporting role.


  2. Yeah man, you have to see John Q. I believe it is Michaela’s favorite movie, next to Shawshank Redemption.

    You haven’t seen He Got Game? Wow… how can you call yourself a movie buff?

    I disagree, in that I do think Denzel deserved the Oscar, and I would say he was the lead actor. Yes, Ethan Hawke had an equal role, but I would still say Denzel was the lead or at the least, co-lead.


  3. You missed Crimson Tide? How dare you.


  4. What about:
    American Gangster
    Glory
    Courage Under Fire
    Crimson Tide
    Which apart from Rember the Titans would have been my top 5


  5. Man on Fire should have been the outright winner here!!..But great list all the same!!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

