h1

Movie Review: The Pursuit of Happyness

April 23, 2007

pursuit_of_happyness.jpgI am a huge Will Smith fan, and I’m really surprised it took me this long to see this film. I had heard pretty good things, and was expecting a lot from this movie. But wow, was I ever amazed. I’m close to thinking that Will Smith should have won Best Actor for his role in this film (although I love Forest Whitaker, and haven’t yet seen The Last King of Scotland, so I’ll reserve my final judgment until then).

The film is based on a true story, and follows struggling salesman Chris Gardner (Will Smith) who faces near poverty trying to get by alone with his son, while trying to make it as a stock broker.

Smith’s real-life son Jaden plays his son in this film, and he is a spitting image of his father. This kid is going to be a star. You can see Will in him. He has this cute type of cockiness that you can just tell comes from his Dad.

This film is an emotional roller coaster from start to finish. I had heard that guys were crying in the theater and I can see why. It’s definitely a “guy cry” movie. I know I had watery eyes at some points.

It was an excellent film and one I would 100% recommend to anyone. Will Smith is quicky becoming one of the best actors in every area of film, and while continually coming out with hit action movies, comedies and now dramas, I’m hard pressed to find a better all-around actor.

My Rating: 9.5/10

2 comments

  1. I haven’t seen this yet, but will when I have a minute. I think I’m putting it off because I know I’ll be a blubbering idiot and that will depress me and get me thinking about my own life..and really, who wants to go there??? :)

    When you do see The Last King of Scotland, you’ll see why Forest Whitaker won. Probably one of the single greatest performances of all time.


  2. Yeah, I just finished watching Whitaker in The Shield Season 5 and he was absolutely brilliant. He is incredible, and I no doubt believe he deserved to win.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

