h1

Movie Review: 300

March 13, 2007

leonidas.jpgWhat happens when you take two incredible movies such as Gladiator and Sin City and turn up the cool factor by 100? You get the incredible, jaw-dropping, beautifully intense movie, 300. I went into the theater with huge expectations about this film. It delivered above and beyond anything I expected.

The film is shot in a beautiful way, the acting is incredible, the fighting scenes are new and refreshing, and the film comes together wonderfully. It is an utterly enjoyable two hours of entertainment.

I don’t need to get into what it’s about… most of you have seen the trailers. 300 Spartan soldiers take on a Persian empire, that’s the basic premise.

The film goes without nearly any star power (The Wire’s Dominic West was the only one I recognized), but that only heightens the impact of the movie.

I’ve watched probably in the neighborhood of 1,300 to 1,500 movies in my life, and rarely do I see a movie that I would consider one of my favorites. My favorite movie hasn’t changed for nearly ten years, but 300 quite possibly could be the closest movie since to change that. In the least, it is in my top 5.

The second the movie was over, I wanted to watch it again. Basically, in case you aren’t getting my point… see this movie. Unless you’re offended by violence and some gore, I cannot see how anyone can not enjoy 300.

My Rating: 10/10

4 comments

  1. This movie caught me by complete surprise. I hadn’t caught any of the buzz leading up to it until about a week before its release. I had no idea it was a Frank Miller creation. I have been wanting to see it ever since I saw the full length trailer.

    Our generation is a very very lucky one. Technology has thrown the filmmaking industry into our hands. Movies like this come from the voice of our generation. We have seen it all and can recreate most of it ourselves. We are yearning for something new, inteligent, and stunning. From everything I have heard the process behind “The 300” is exactly that. I cant wait to see this movie.


  2. I know… I was shocked you said you weren’t looking forward to it. I couldn’t possibly understand why, as I knew you were a Frank Miller and Sin City fan, and I couldn’t comprehend you seeing the trailer and not being interested. I guess I know why now. You need to stay more informed there, T-man. haha πŸ˜‰


  3. Yeah. If people aren’t such a fan of ‘violence and some gore,’ it’s not recommendable for them. The point they should know perhaps is that the filmmakers only wanted to portray the story realistically. Anyhow, I think you’re review was good. No, better, because mine had spoilers! πŸ˜›

    The movie really is good. I love it! Ah, love, it’s just so hard to say when you’re a man- much more a soldier and a king. πŸ˜‰


  4. I loved Sin City, so I’m looking forward to 300! Thanks for the review. Bring on the violence and gore!!!



Leave a Reply

