h1

Movie Review: We Don’t Live Here Anymore

March 13, 2007

we_dont_live_here_anymore1.jpgI’ve had “We Don’t Live Here Anymore” sitting on my shelf for almost two years now. It was released back in 2004, but I finally got around to watching it the other day. I’m not exactly sure what took me so long to get to it, other than I vaguely remember hearing bad things about it. Just another reminder as to why I shouldn’t let a bad review prevent me from seeing a movie. I ended up really enjoying “We Don’t Live Here Anymore”.

It’s not the type of film that puts you in a good mood. The movie centers around two couples’ relationships with each other, with their friends, and their fight for personal happiness. Like many couples, the two in this movie may appear happy and content to other people, but in their own homes they are miserable. They all need something their significant others are not providing them with, and thus, look elsewhere to fulfill their needs.

It’s a sad movie on the surface, but it does show a hope that no matter how bad things get, and no matter what has happened in the past, you can still learn from it all and move forward.

The actors all provide great performances, and I was excited to see Peter Krause in a film role, after being a huge fan of his work in “Six Feet Under”.

The movie reminded me a lot of “Closer”, with Julia Roberts and Jude Law. For those of you that enjoy a serious, depressing movie once and a while, I recommend checking this one out.

My Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

