h1

“Transformers” ain’t for kids this time around

March 14, 2007

transformers-the-movie-poster.jpgEver since I first heard about it’s potential release, I’ve been, to say the least, excited about the upcoming live-action Transformers movie. Most of you know my huge obsession with those wonderful little transforming robots, so being pumped for this movie is a no-brainer.

I first heard the movie was a go about 2 years ago, and it will finally be released on July 4th, 2007. Everyone who wasn’t a fan views Transformers as a kid’s thing; a silly show made to sell toys. Well, the movie will be nothing like that.

It’s directed by Michael Bay. The same Michael Bay that directed Bad Boys 1 & 2, Pearl Harbor, Armageddon, The Island, The Rock, etc. The movie is also being produced by Steven Spieldberg. Needless to say, this isn’t a low-budget film. It’s also being released on the day of the year usually set aside for the year’s biggest blockbuster films, July 4th.

The movie has now been completed and was just recently sent to the MPAA to receive it’s rating. They replied by giving the first cut of the film an “R” rating. Because R-rated movies cut-back on the amount of potential viewers, most studios generally try to stay away from receiving one. Director Bay, not wanting to change anything with his film, went to Spielberg for help in attaining a better rating. His influence worked, and without changing anything in the movie, the film has ended up with a PG-13 rating.

I’m happy to hear they are making a more serious, adult-orientated action movie. If you’ve seen the trailer, you’ve see how this is going to be one hell of an action film.

Only 4 months to go…

6 comments

  1. Thats the problem with a Michael Bay movie, he loves violence. Bad Boys 2 is one of the most destructive and excessively violent movies I have ever seen. Bay has a tendancy to include violence where good writing usually goes. Other than the “Rock”, which was a pure action movie with the right amount of campiness, and “The Island” ,which was survived by its great script, Bay hasn’t given us a movie to gawk at. Bay does a great job of making things explode and filming uninspiring car chase sequences but a movie with a cult following like “Transformers” deserves someone with a stronger ability to nail down the whole picture.

    It is very clear from the casting of B list actors and the hiring of Bay that this is going to be a thoughtless piece of pyrotechnics in the vain of Star Ship Troopers. I am still greatly looking forward to this picture but not as much as I was when I first heard that Spielberg was at the helm as overseer. Transformers may have been caught up in the dismemberment of Dreamworks but I thought that Spielberg would go for a more thoughtful picture. This feels a lot like “Independence Day”.

    I wonder what a director and writer like Brian Singer, Peter Jackson, or Sam Raimi could have done with this picture. Who knows, maybe Bay will hit this one out of the park. Seeing that there is this much editing underway in order to give it a more viewable PG-13 rating makes me feel pretty secure in its overly violent conclusion. I hope that the editing that so often goes into these not-enough-time-to-reshoot-anything changes doesn’t kill a good movie until it is available unrated on DVD. For a good example see the first X-Men picture.


  2. I’m not sure if you read it right, but nothing was changed to make it a PG-13 movie. The original cut is still in tact.

    I’m obviously more a fan of Michael Bay than you are. I loved both Bad Boys 1 and 2, and liked the Island as well. The Rock was one of my favorite movies when it first came out.

    If TF is anything like Independence Day than I will be happy, as I really enjoyed that movie.

    Transformers won’t be the type of movie that gets awards for its acting or script… but that’s not the point. It’s a movie that’s meant to be entertaining and I think that’s exactly what it will be.

    The reason there aren’t a-list actors is because the actors aren’t the stars of the movie, the robots are.

    Either way, I’m not looking for the next American Beauty. The next Bad Boys will do for me.


  3. I dont think anyone is thinking American Beauty, think more along the lines of Star Wars. There were obvious problems with most of Bays movies leading up to this point that lead him to his reputation as a guy who can use CGI very well but has trouble transferring a script to the screen. Bad Boys 1 was a good movie, 2 wasn’t terrible but wasn’t good either. His thoughtless destruction of a shanty town created a merciless visual that he wasn’t even aware of.

    All this being said his earliest blockbuster, The Rock, was a dynamite picture. He has done it before but the fact that he hasn’t since says to me that he knows the code for making a financially successfull movie but the art of it seems a little bit beyond his grasp. He has had great glimpses, such as the old videocamera following the bomber in Pearl Harbour, or the depiction of the futuristic enclosure of The Island but he has also missed and often.

    I will give him kudos for The Island, which is his most recent picture, as well as The Rock, but to me the rest of his pictures had to many giant holes in them for me to look forward to Bay behind the eyepiece of the one film I have been waiting since I was seven to see. And like I said earlier, maybe he will hit a homerun.

    No matter what influence Spielberg has there will be editing to be done in order to get a PG-13 rating. The ratings council have a guideline to be accountable for and the film will either fit it or it wont. There are a lot of gray areas where the council can yeah or nay but there is a lot of black and white, usually when pertaining to violence.


  4. It’s official that it received a PG-13 rating without altering any of the film. They appealed the decision and it was overturned.

    Anyyyyyways… I think you’re taking the movie a little too seriously. It’s meant to be a good action film, with a good enough storyline to keep it interesting. I think this will happen, as, in my opinion Bad Boys 2, Armageddon, The Rock and The Island were all very entertaining movies that may not have award winning scripts, but still had good enough writing to make them great movies beyond the car chases and explosions.


  5. Aren’t we allowed to hope for better though?


  6. If anyone is going to this movie for the story….
    Transformers has been on the forefront of movies I can’t wait to see for me for a long time. As a kid who collected many of them in the late eighties (and then had my mom sell most of them off at a garage sale)I’m pumped about seeing them on the big screen. This time around I’m looking forward to taking my son to it too. I hope it’s not too violent. I guess the people who will see it for sure are those who loved them 10-15 years ago. They can handle a little extra. If they’re trying to get a new generation of kids into it though, they’ll have to tone it down a bit.



Leave a Reply

