h1

Movie Review: Dawn of the Dead

March 19, 2007

dawn-of-the-dead-dvd.jpgSunday, aka “Movie Day” could have also been known as “Zack Snyder” day this weekend. Knowing we would be going to “300” later that night, we decided to re-watch Snyder’s other directorial effort, “Dawn of the Dead”.

Normally, I absolutely hate zombie movies. I’ve never liked them, and usually never even consider watching them. I had heard good things about Dawn of the Dead, and decided to give it a shot. Was I ever glad I did. It is almost more of an action/horror with some good comedy thrown in, than it is a zombie movie.

There’s great suspense, and some incredibly cool gore scenes. The first ten minutes of the film are just incredible.

If you don’t mind a lot of gore and enjoy a suspenseful film, this movie is a must-see. Zack Snyder is the next great up-and-coming director. I’m really looking forward to his next film, the comic-to-film adaptation, “The Watchmen”.

My Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a comment