h1

The Top 10 Movies I’m looking forward to in ’07

March 19, 2007

Here are the top 10 movies that I’m looking forward to for this year. 300 would have been number 2 on the list, but since it’s already out, I won’t include it.


bourneultimatum.jpg10. The Bourne Ultimatum

Release Date: August 3, 2007

This is the third film in the series about Jason Bourne, based on the novels written by Robert Ludlum. If it’s anything like the first two thrillers, it should be an entertaining movie.


 

 

evanalmighty.jpg9. Evan Almighty

Release Date: June 22, 2007

This is the sequel/spin-off of the 2003 film Bruce Almighty. Steve Carrell plays Evan, the next unlikely candidate to be handed God’s powers. You may remember his character as the bumbling news anchor that Bruce used his powers against in the original.


 

fantastic_four_rise_of_the_silver_surfer_xlg.jpg8. The Fantasic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer

Release Date: June 15, 2007

The sequel to 2005 film; this one will feature popular marvel comics’ character, “The Silver Surfer”. I really enjoyed the first movie, although it was somewhat of a box office disappointment. I think you’ll see a difference with the sequel, as it looks to have a better storyline.


 

ratatouille.jpg7. Ratatouille

Release Date: June 29, 2007

Ratatouille is the next in the line of great Pixar films such as Toy Story, Finding Nemo and The Incredibles. I’ve seen the trailer, and although it looks alright, it didn’t excite me quite as much as the usual Pixar releases. Pixar has yet to let me down, however, so I am still expecting big things from this movie as well.


 

simpsons_movie.jpg6. The Simpsons Movie

Release Date: July 27, 2007

I’ve always been a pretty big “Simpsons” fan, even though I haven’t watched the show much over the past few years. After a long, long, long wait, we will finally be treated to a big screen version of the show. With so many years of waiting behind this, it’s going to be hard to live up to the expectations of the fans. I hope it does, and I think it will.


 

oceans_thirteen.jpg5. Ocean’s 13

Release Date: June 8, 2007

This summer could also be called the year of the sequels. Ocean’s 13 is the third film about Danny Ocean and his team of bank robbers. The usual superstar cast will once again include George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Matt Damon among others. New to the cast this year is Al Pacino.


 

shrek3.jpg4. Shrek The Third

Release Date: May 18, 2007

Shrek and Fiona are at it again, and this time they must try their hand at being King and Queen. I’ve seen the trailer, and it looks like it’ll be another hilarious film. Thankfully Puss n’ Boots will return, as will the rest of the characters from Shrek 2. Justin Timberlake joins the voice cast that already includes Mike Myers, Cameron Diaz, Antonio Banderas and Eddie Murphy.


 

deathproof.jpg3. Grindhouse

Release Date: April 6

Longtime friends, and super directors, Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez join forces to pay homage to their childhood obsession, “grindhouse” films. Grindhouse features two movies in-one. First, Rodriguez’s film “Planet Terror”, and then Tarantino’s “Death Proof”. Judging by the trailers, it looks like Planet Terror will be the better film, but I never underestimate Tarantino.


 

spider_man_three_ver5.jpg2. Spiderman 3

Release Date: May 4, 2007

The fourth film on my top ten to be film #3 in a series. I am more excited for this film than either of the previous Spiderman films, as it features one of my all-time favorite comic book villans, “Venom”. Spiderman is probably the biggest comic franchise of all time, and I think this film will out-gross both of the previous films. It will probably give a good push at being the highest grossing film of the summer.


 

transformers-the-movie-poster1.jpg1. Transformers

Release Date: July 4, 2007

A movie that I have been waiting for for 20 years, it easily makes the top of my list. I’ve made enough mention of the film in previous posts, but to summarize, it focuses on two groups of robots that come to earth and wage war against each other, placing mankind in the middle. It should be a special effects blockbuster, and could make a push to be the highest grossing film of the summer.

11 comments

  1. I wanted to mention my runners up as well:

    – Trade
    – Pirates of the Caribbean 3: At World’s End
    – Surf’s Up
    – The Kingdom
    – Fred Claus
    – Rush Hour 3


  2. All of these movies look amazing. SpiderMan 3, Transformers and the Bourne Ultimatum are the three I am looking forward to most. Its a great summer for action movies especially with Bourne. That is one series that has taken the action movie bar and propped it way up.

    All of this talk about Spiderman 3 being the last in the Spiderman series could break this movie. Do they try their best to tie up all loose ends? Do they leave Parker in a situation where he may have died but he might have survived? Will they just hand the reigns over to Gyllenhall? No matter what this will be a classic. Raimi never dissapoints.


  3. Yeah, Spiderman 3 should be great. I was slightly disappointed by the first one, but loved the second one. The third looks to be the best yet. Spiderman 4 HAS been confirmed by Marvel, whether Tobey Maguire (who currently isn’t keen on returning) is in or not.

    I don’t think they should do another without him. It just wouldn’t be right, although if they do, Gyllenhaal would be the only other option. Tobey is just so perfect, and other than the Bond series, no film is ever successful by changing the lead actor.

    Either way, we are in for one of the best years in movies in a long, long time. And I only included most of the blockbuster releases… there are several other lesser known films that could become gems. Blake Snake Moan is one that is currently coming to mind.


  4. These movies are great. I love your blog- particularly your movie reviews and Top 10s and stuff. It’s cool. There’s a lot of movies to look forward to in 07, I think. But I’m rooting for Spiderman 3, Shrek The Third, Evan Almighty and The Bourne Ultimatum.

    I’ve read a book from Robert Ludlum entitled The Hades Factor. Did that get filmed? I guess not but it was good and I think, probably, Bourne Ultimatum would be better still.


  5. Thanks for the nice comments, Elaine.

    I haven’t read any of Ludlum’s books, but I know there are at least 5 or 6 books in the Matt Bourne series, so provided the movies continue to do well, and Matt Damon stays interested, we could see several more hit the big screen.

    The Hades Factor was filmed, actually. But it’s not a movie. It was filmed as a TV mini-series last year. It starred Stephen Dorff, Mira Sorvino and Blair Underwood.

    It’s available on DVD now:
    http://www.amazon.com/Robert-Ludlums-Covert-One-Factor/dp/B000FP2OP4


  6. For me it’s Pirates 3 and Spiderman 3. And Ratatouille looks funny, except that i’ll never be able to serve that dish to guests again without them thinking about rats!


  7. I thought the main character in the Bourne movies was Jason, not Matt, Bourne


  8. Haha, how right you are. Surprised no one’s noticed the mistake until now. Thanks!


  9. Ahhh yes it is … Jason is obviously more badass than Matt. Sorry bud.


  10. That’s pretty much my list too. Except for Bourne Ultimatum, only because I haven’t seen the first two yet because I was waiting for this one to be made so I could watch them all at once.

    Okay?


  11. great!! loved ur movie selection as a film buff more is never enough
    cheers
    S



Leave a Reply

