h1

Movie Review: Fast Food Nation

March 23, 2007

fastfoodnation_dvd.jpg“You will never want to eat fast food again”.

That is what everyone told me upon seeing “Fast Food Nation”. The film is adapted from the book by Eric Schlosser, and is somewhat of an acted version of the documentary “Super Size Me”. The film focuses on the fictional fast food company, “Mickey’s”. It examines the health risks, and unsanitary conditions involved in creating those fast food burgers we all enjoy so much.

So, would I still eat a fast food burger? I would say yes. The film didn’t gross me out quite as much as expected, and I’d say “Super Size Me” had a much greater effect on making me want to stay away from fast food. We all know fast food isn’t good for you for several reasons. This film pointed out some of the more disgusting aspects, and if anything it would make you want to be a vegetarian more than give up fast food.

It takes a lot to make me disturbed. Well, this movie may have one of the most disturbing scenes I’ve ever seen. Without giving away any spoilers, I’ll just say it involves the slaughtering of live cows. From what I can tell, it’s actual footage of cows being slaughtered, although I could be wrong. Either way, it’s extremely disgusting. Not for anyone with a weak stomach.

I had really big expectations for this film, and I would say I was somewhat let down. I was expecting a more informative film that gave me reasons why I shouldn’t eat fast food. This film focuses more on graphic images of how beef is prepared, and didn’t really attempt to inform me; instead trying to let the images do the talking.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s most definitely worth the rental. It just didn’t live up to my high expectations.

My Rating: 7.5/10

2 comments

  1. just watched Fast Food Nation, it’s impactful to say the least… earlier today i passed up a sausage mcmuffin because of it. Evidently it is worth passing up fast food for more than health reasons.


  2. I wish everyone would see this movie. Saw it a week ago, still can’t get it out of my mind….Powerful…



Leave a Reply

