h1

300, The Graphic Novel

March 29, 2007

300novel.jpg

I loved the movie 300, so I decided to see how it all came about and picked up Frank Miller’s graphic novel of the same name.

Like most young boys, I loved comics as a kid. Superheros, art, cool stories… all things kids enjoy. 300 may have originally come out in comic form, but it is so much more than just a simple comic.

I was surprised to see how similar the book and the movie are. I didn’t realize how they pretty much translated the book directly to screen. The camera angles, the writing, and even the look of the characters is almost a dead-on transfer.

300 is a beautiful book. Miller’s art is incredible, and Lynn Varley doesn’t get enough credit for her excellent work in coloring the book. But above all, it’s the writing that makes everything come together. Miller’s writing is so far ahead of anything else I’ve read as far as comics go. All of those great lines in the film? That was all Frank Miller’s doing.

Even if you’re not a fan of comics, I’ll highly suggest picking up this book. It’s probably one of the best comic/graphic novels that I’ve ever read.

3 comments

  1. Can I buy it at your store at a discount?


  2. I must agree with you that 300 was an excellent movie. So much, in my opinion that I now consider 300 to be my most favourite movie.

    Have you seen Sin City? The comic book stories that are in the movie are directly translated to the screen. There are some minor parts left out, but if you’ve got the special edition DVD like I do, you get to see all of it and they never skip anything.

    I haven’t yet read the 300 graphic novel but I think sometime next week I might pop by my local Chapters and see if they have it. It might make for some good summer reading.

    Take care Matt.


  3. I haven’t read the Sin City books yet, but I have them on special order right now, so I should be getting them soon.

    I’m also going to try out his Batman graphic novels as well.



Leave a Reply

