h1

My Top 10 Favorite Will Smith Movies

April 9, 2007

I enjoyed doing my Denzel Washington Top 10 List, so I’ve decided to do a Top 10 Favorite Will Smith movies as well. Will hasn’t been in nearly the amount of movies (16 to be exact) as Denzel, but I was still able to put together a top 10 quite easily.

This is going to be a top 9 list though, as I haven’t seen “Pursuit of Happyness” yet, but I know it would get into this top 10. So, assuming Pursuit will be somewhere on the list, here’s the top 9…


shark-tale-dvd.jpg9. Shark Tale

From imdb.com: When a son of a gangster shark boss is accidently killed while on the hunt, his would be prey and his vegetarian brother both decide to use the incident to their own advantage.

Ok, it’s an animated film, but Will did a good job as the voice of the main character, Oscar. It’s a pretty funny movie, as there are a lot of good little pop culture jokes that aren’t just for kids. I liked it a lot, and unfortunately it passed by a lot of people’s radars.


hitch.jpg8. Hitch

From imdb.com: While helping his latest client woo the fine lady of his dreams, a professional “date doctor” (Smith) finds game doesn’t quite work on the gossip columnist (Mendes) with whom he’s smitten.

Thanks to having a late-minute open house at our place, I had to leave and find a couple hours to kill. This was the only movie that hadn’t started yet, so I actually went and saw it by myself. It’s pretty embarrassing going to what is essentially a romance film by yourself. It was me, and about 10 couples in the theater, haha. However, I still enjoyed the movie quite a bit. It has it’s cheesy moments, but overall, it’s a pretty funny movie.


men_in_black.jpg7. Men In Black

From imbd.com: Two men who keep an eye on aliens in New York City must try to save the world after the aliens threaten to blow it up.

I didn’t like this film as much as most people, but I still enjoyed it. It was much, much better than the horrible sequel. Men In Black is a pretty good alien movie parody, with lots of hilarious moments.


bad_boys.jpg6. Bad Boys

From imbd.com: Two hip detectives protect a murder witness while investigating a case of stolen heroin.

Bad Boys is a great buddy-cop film. This was essentially Will’s first big studio role, and it helped launch his career in a big way. He and Martin Lawrence are hilarious in this film, and it’s not only a funny movie, but a great action flick as well.


i_robot_ver3.jpg5. I, Robot

From imdb.com: In the year 2035 a techno-phobic cop investigates a crime that may have been perpetrated by a robot, which leads to a larger threat to humanity.

It may not have been critically praised, but I think this is one of Will’s most enjoyable films. It’s simply a fun, fun movie to watch. I’ve seen it several times, and it’s been great each time. Like most Will Smith films, it mixes comedy with action very well.


ali.jpg4. Ali

From imdb.com: A biography of sports legend, Muhammad Ali, from his early days to his days in the ring.

Will Smith was absolutely incredible in his portrayal of the great Muhammad Ali. He was well deserving of his Oscar nomination. Ali helped show that Will is not just an action star, but also one of the most gifted actors around.


enemy_of_the_state.jpg3. Enemy of the State

From imdb.com: A lawyer becomes a target by a corrupt politician and his NSA goons when he accidentally receives key evidence to a serious politically motivated crime.

The top three Will Smith films were the hardest to rank. This is more of a thriller than an action film, and the only actual thriller Smith has been in. It ranks pretty high among my favorite movies. I haven’t seen it for quite a few years, but I just bought it and I am looking forward to seeing it again.


independence-day.jpg2. Independence Day

From imdb.com: The aliens are coming and their goal is to invade and destroy. Fighting superior technology, Man’s best weapon is the will to survive.

Independence Day is often criticized and a lot of people make fun of it, but I really enjoyed it. It’s an incredibly fun movie. No, it isn’t Oscar-worthy, but you’ll be hard pressed to a more enjoyable film. It’s another in a long line of great action/comedies from Mr. Smith.


badboys2.jpg1. Bad Boys II

From imdb.com: Two loose-cannon narcotics cops investigate the flow of Ecstacy into Florida.

I might get some criticism for ranking Bad Boys II first, as most people would probably say the first film was a better movie. I disagree. Bad Boys II is probably my all-time favorite action/comedy. I just love this film. Such an incredibly fun, enjoyable movie.

> Read more ‘Top 10’ lists

8 comments

  1. I liked Bad Boys II better than the first also. It was just…better. 🙂

    I haven’t seen Ali or Pursuit of Happyness, but here great things about them both.

    But by far, my fave is Men in Black. Edgar suit. *giggle*


  2. Bad Boys 2 was terrible in my opinion, well compared to some of his other movies.

    I haven’t seen Pursuit of Happiness either but Enemy of the State, Ali, I Robot, Hitch and Men in Black are all better movies. I think with the exception of Wild Wild West, and Men in Black 2 being absolute junk, Bad Boys 2 is probably among his worst movies.


  3. BY FAR WILL SMITH AND HIS WIFE ARE WONDERFUL PEOPLE AND GREAT ROLE MODELS FOR OUR CHILDREN . MY FAVORITE MOVIE IS”PURSUIT OF HAPPYNESS ” AS A TEACHER ASST. IN ELEMENTARY PUBLIC SCHOOL IN LOUISIANA I THINK THEY SHOULD BE ABLE TO SEE THIS MOVIE AND ALSO ALL OF TYLE PERRY MOVIES .{ JUST FOR RECORD IF IT MATTERS I AM A WHITE FEMALE }


  4. pursuit of happyness- great. i am legend- really good


  5. I also made a list my self:-)
    http://peekablog.net/2008/09/top-10-movies-by-will-smith/


  6. This must of been made a while ago i mean, where is I Am Legend?? That movie would be definitely before Hitch


  7. Hi, here is my favorite websites and bookmarks, have a look and drop me a line http://www.PageRef.com let’s share our favorte websites^^


  8. Will smith is, and will forever be the man



Leave a Reply

