h1

Movie Review: School For Scoundrels

April 17, 2007

schoolforscoundrels_dvd.jpgSchool For Scoundrels is basically what you’d expect it to be. It’s Fight Club meets Bad Santa, but unfortunately nowhere near as good as either of those films.

I like both Jon Heder and Billy Bob Thornton. They did admiral jobs in this film, and overall I’d say I enjoyed it. It was about what I expected it to be. There are some pretty funny spots and I had a few good laugh-out-loud moments.

The film centers on Roger (Jon Heder, aka Napoleon Dynamite) and he is a hapless loser. A nice guy, but well… he’s a meter maid and good things just don’t happen to him. So he joins a class taught by Dr. P (Billy Bob Thornton), that’s intention is to make geeks into studs.

I’d recommend the film if you’re looking for something easy-going to watch. It’s a film you can sit back and enjoy some popcorn to. It’s not the best comedy out there, but it does what it intends to do.

My Rating: 6.5/10

4 comments

  1. Heder is all over the place as an actor. He has done a great movie (napoleon) followed by a terrible one (Benchwarmers) followed by this lukewarm movie and finally he did a great job in the very funny Blades of Glory. Glory may be the only movie where he isn’t doing a watered down rendition of Dynamite and I hope he carries on with that in mind. He is hilarious but needs the right material.


  2. I agree, in a way. I thought Heder was hilarious in Benchwarmers, and one of the only bright spots in the film (but yes, he was basically doing a rendition of Napoleon).

    I am looking forward to seeing Blades of Glory now. I am a huge Ferrell and Heder fan, but it just looked kinda dumb to me. I’m sure it will be hilarious, though.


  3. I’m with you on this one, Matt; it was fun, and it did what it set out to do, but it wasn’t quite as funny as I’d been expecting. That being said, I like Jon Heder and Billy Bob Thornton a lot. Have you seen the Billy Bob update of Bad News Bears? It was fun, and he was hilarious.


  4. Yeah, I’ve seen Bad News Bears. I remember it being pretty decent. I think Billy Bob is hilarious in roles like this. He killed me in Bad Santa.



Leave a Reply

