h1

Movie Review: Stranger Than Fiction

April 22, 2007

stranger_than_fiction.jpgI really enjoy when comedic actors take on more serious roles. I’m always interested to see how they do, and like Jim Carey in “Eternal Sunshine” and Adam Sandler in “Punch Drunk Love”, Will Ferrell really impressed me. This is nothing like some of his past work, and I really enjoyed him in this film (not that I wasn’t a fan before).

Will Ferrell plays Harold Crick, an IRS adjuster who lives a very boring, mundane life. Suddenly one day he stars hearing a woman narrating his life. Kay Eiffel is an author in the midst of writer’s block, who’s latest novel centers on the life of one Harold Crick. The same Harold Crick. Eiffel is a novelist who’s characters always die at the end, and her newest book is slated to have that same ending. This is obviously not good new for Harold.

Maggie Gyllenhaal, Dustin Hoffman and Queen Latifah also make appearances, and do a great job in their own right. I really enjoyed Gyllenhaal’s role and Dustin Hoffman’s wacky humor is wonderful as always.

I had been looking forward to seeing this film for a while now, and although I wasn’t too sure what to expect, I came out enjoying it much more than I thought I would. It’s an excellent movie that has the perfect mix of both comedy and drama.

As long as you go into this film not expecting anything similar to what you’d normally see from Will Ferrell, I can’t see how you wouldn’t enjoy this movie. Great from start to finish.

My Rating: 8/10 

4 comments

  1. Like you, I too have been waiting to see this and I have it somewhere here at home. I’ll have to get around to looking for it later today.


  2. I. Love. Maggie. Gyllenhaal. I need to check this one out!


  3. After watching this, I am adding Maggie to my “honorable mention” list of favorite actresses. One more great performance,and she’s in the top 10. Mainly, the most likely reason she isn’t, is that I haven’t seen too many of her films. But she’s awesome in this one.


  4. I passed her on the street in Chicago a couple of years ago. She’s luminous in person. I think she’s a really gutsy actress, and I love her look. There’s something different about her that I really respond to.



Leave a Reply

