h1

My Top 10 Favorite 5 Cent Candies

April 23, 2007

I’ve always loved going to 7-11 and getting a little grab bag of 5 cent candies. It’s my usual treat of choice. I decided to put together a list of my top 10. After going through the ‘net trying to find pictures, I now have a huge candy craving. By the way, I am a huge nerd in case you haven’t already noticed.

Anyways, here’s the list…


10. Cherries

Cherry gummies are one of the classic 5 cent candies. They’ve always been an addition to my grab bag of choice.

cherries.jpg


9. Blue Sharks

Everytime I see blue sharks, it reminds me of when I bought a big tub of them to bring up to our annual guy’s fishing trip last year. I think three of us finished off the whole tub in about 5 minutes. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve had any since.

blue-sharks.jpg


8. Sour Apple Rings

I used to love the peach rings, but once I tried the sour apple flavor, I haven’t gone back since. Once you go apple, you never go back.

apples.jpg


7. Coke Bottles

Coke bottles are, as far as I know, one of the original gummy candies, and are basically the “poster boy” for 5 cent candies. They may not be my favorite, but they’re close. I find I can sick of them if I have more than a couple.

cokebottles.jpg


6. Fuzzy Peaches

Fuzzy peaches were probably my favorite candy when I was a kid, but I’ve eaten so many of them over the years, I think I’ve gotten kinda sick of them. However, I still like them enough to rank them 6th overall.

fuzzypeaches.jpg


5. Sour Keys aka Sour Soothers

Another mainstay in 5 cent candies, out of all the “sours” they are probably my favorite.

supersoothers.jpg


4. Red Hot Dollars

It seems to be a love/hate with these. If you like hot, you will like them… if not, then these will be a horrible experience for you. I love hot, so these rank #4.

redhotdollars.jpg


3. Peach Penguins

These are relatively new, but they are quickly becoming one of my favorites. I love peach and I love penguins.

penguins.jpg


2. Wine Gums

My Dad started me on wine gums years and years ago, and they are still one of my favorites. I like the more dry type over the “greasy” type (Maynards brand).

wine_gums.jpg


1. Pink Grapefruit Slices

The picture below is not quite the candy I’m referring to. I looked everywhere, but couldn’t find an actual picture of the pink grapefruit slice, but it looks pretty much the same as this. I love both the sugar coated and gummy versions. In my opinion, it’s the best 5 cent candy out there.

orangecandy.jpg

> Read more ‘Top 10’ lists

15 comments

  1. I don’t have time to think of my own but I will rearrange yours to my number ranking.

    10. Peach Penguins (haven’t tried them)
    9. Cherries
    8. Sour Keys
    7. Apple Rings
    6. Red Hot Dollars
    5. Pink Grapefruit
    4. Blue Sharks
    3. Wine Gums
    2. Fuzzy Peaches
    1. Coke Bottles


  2. Honorable mention to… fried eggs, blue whales and what we call “poo candies” because well, thats what they smell like. They are a soft version of the Creme candies. So good… but they smell so so bad.


  3. Well first of all, I don’t know if wine gums are technically a 5 cent candy. But since it’s mattgunn.ca and not michaelacondon.ca, I guess I’ll let it slide 😉
    My list goes something like this:

    10.Pink Grapefruit
    9.Sour Keys
    8.Fuzzy Peaches
    7.Coke Bottles
    6.Blue Sharks
    5.Grapes with sugar.
    4.Peach Penguins
    3.Cherries with sugar.
    2.Red Foot
    1. Bananas. This is such an easy one for me, has always been my fav.

    And for the record, I am one of those haters of Red Hot Dollars!


  4. Ahh… the grapes! Those are excellent. Bananas aren’t too bad, but not a favorite of mine. The Red Foots are pretty good… but don’t they just taste the same as the Red dollars??

    Also, yes… 7-11 has wine gums in the 5 cent candy section.


  5. I must have always missed them.
    No, Red Foots don’t taste like Red Dollars at all, they have a kind of strawberry taste I guess? I don’t know actually!


  6. What about “Swedish Berries”?! Those things are AWESOME!!!!!!!! They are my #1-5 choice. 5-10 would be fuzzy peaches. That’s it. That’s all I ever get. Aren’t I boring? I can proudly say I bought a whole bag of Swedish Berries (now “Nordic Berries”, but I can’t make the switch) last week. And, as usual, got the berry belly ache… Gotta love it!


  7. Dang it Matt, you’ve got me craving some of the stuff on your list now. I think tomorrow I may just head over to my local bulk barn and get about $20 worth of some good gummies. I’ll also see if they have any Pink Grapefruits, and if so, I’ll get some a take a pic of them to send to you so you can show people what you mean.


  8. cinnamon for sure

    very cool list though


  9. Swedish Berries are a must.

    I love the blue rasberries too. I remember playing NHL Trivia last fishing trip and Darryl and Dave ate all of your blue sharks. It was a bucket and they ate it all.

    Pink Grapefruits and Sour Keys are my favorites with honorable mention to blue rasberries, coke bottles and cherries. THey used to have candies called buttons that were a penny each. They dont have them anymore but I loved them. FOund them in the bulk isle in safeway about a year ago but haven’t since. Another great bulk find is Starburst jelly beans.


  10. Urg, I slept in yesterday and forgot I was gonna go out, but tomorrow I’m defintely gonna go out cuz I’ve gotta go and clean out my locker @ school and then cash a cheque, so since I’ll be taking a bus home, I’ll have to go to the mall, so once I’m there I’ll take a trip to the bulk barn and see if I can’t get some pink grapefruits.

    Lastly, I thought I’d add that this is probably my most fave of all of your top 10 lists.


  11. Thanks, Mike… it’s pretty random, and I wasn’t sure if maybe I was the only person over 12 years old that still bought 5 cent candies. Haha, but glad you enjoyed it, and don’t worry about the picture, it’s not too big of a deal.


  12. all these candies suck except sour keys fuzzy peaches and cherries put them in the top 3.
    you people are losers.


  13. i like pie


  14. So I stumbled upon this when trying to explain to my American friend what 5 cent candies are…amazing!

    Had a look at the Full House post too….. some pretty unreal stuff you’ve got here… and that doesn’t even touch on your mention of Suddenly Susan.

    Thanks for bringing it all back!


  15. I’M EATING ALL THOSE CANDIES NOW BAHAHAHAHA!!! I’m going to have a tummy ache soon :(. BUT SO WORTH IT :p



Leave a Reply

