h1

My Round 1 Predictions. How did I do?

April 24, 2007

Well, the first round of the playoffs is over, and this year was quite different than most. How so? Well, nearly every team that was supposed to win, actually did. Before the Playoffs started, I did a post on my predictions for each round. Let’s take a look at how I did…


Western Conference

Detroit Red Wings vs. Calgary Flames. Detroit wins the series 4-2

My Prediction: I picked Detroit, and I was right in the amount of games, as well.

Anaheim Ducks vs. Minnesota Wild. Anaheim wins the series 4-1.

My Prediction: I went for an upset in this one, and picked the Wild in 6 games. However, I did say I wouldn’t be surprised to see the Ducks sweep the Wild, and that was close.

Vancouver Canucks vs. Dallas Stars. Vancouver wins the series 4-3

My Predicition: I was dead-on with this one, picking the Canucks in 7 games.

Nashville Predators vs. San Jose Sharks. San Jose wins the series 4-1

My Prediction: Wow, for a third time in the West, I was dead on predicting San Jose to win it in 5 games.


Eastern Conference

Buffalo Sabres vs. New York Islanders. Buffalo wins the series 4-1

My Prediction: This was the easiest series to pick in my mind. I went with Buffalo to win it, so I was right. But I thought it would end in 4 games, not 5.

New Jersey Devils vs. Tampa Bay Lightning. New Jersey wins the series 4-2

My Prediction: I chose the Devils in 5. I was right about who won, and close on the amount of games as well.

Atlanta Thrashers vs. New York Rangers. New York wins the series 4-0

My Prediction: I picked the Rangers in this one, but I didn’t think they’d sweep it (I picked it to go 6 games).

Ottawa Senators vs. Pittsburgh Penguins. Ottawa wins the series 4-1

My Prediction: I went with Ottawa in this one, but I thought it would take 6 games.


So, how did I do overall? I’m pretty impressed with myself, actually. I was 7-1, in my predictions with only getting the Ducks/Wild series wrong. I was also right on the amount of games in three of the series’ as well.

Round 2 Predictions will be coming soon.

3 comments

  1. I am glad you got the Wild series wrong, otherwise you might not have picked Rolston with your third pick and I would have more compeition in the hockey pool. Great picks going 7-1, that is better than anyone on TSN or Sportsnet. Only Kelly Hrudey on CBC matched you.


  2. Oh yeah, apparently I went 8-0.


  3. Only after you copied all of my predictions, and then changed one 😉



Leave a Reply

