h1

My Top 10 Favorite Movie Characters

April 27, 2007

If you’ve read my blog before, you know I’m a huge movie buff. I’ve wanted to do this post for a while, and have finally got around to putting it together. This list is not based on which actor I like more, which performance I thought was better, or which movie was best. It’s based on my liking of the character itself.

On to the list…


tonymontana.jpg10. Tony Montana, Scarface

Favorite Quote: “You wanna f*ck with me? Okay. You wanna play rough? Okay. Say hello to my little friend!”

Such a great role, played by such a great actor (Al Pacino). Tony Montana is the immigrant turned drug kingpin. In my opinion, the best drug lord character of all time (and there has been a lot of them).


trainingday_char.jpg9. Alonzo Harris, Training Day

Favorite Quote: “They build jails ’cause of me.”

Denzel Washington has had a lot of great roles, but this one is easily my favorite. One of the most enjoyable bad-guy characters I’ve ever seen on film. He’s a bad-ass, he’s depressive, he’s cocky, but overall, he’s just such a deep and interesting character.


mrblonde.jpg8. Mr. Blonde (aka Vic Vega), Reservoir Dogs

Favorite Quote: “Are you gonna bark all day, little doggy, or are you gonna bite?”

My favorite character, in one of my favorite films. Mr. Blonde is a complete psychopath, but you can’t help but like the guy. Such a cool character.


tylerdurden.jpg7. Tyler Durden, Fight Club

Favorite Quote: “We’ve all been raised on television to believe that one day we’d all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars. But we won’t. And we’re slowly learning that fact. And we’re very, very pissed off”.

Tyler Durden is such an interesting character. He is a deep, but also completely empty character. You like him, you want to be him, but you also hate him and don’t trust him at the same time.


gladiator1.jpg6. Maximus, Gladiator

Favorite Quote: “My name is Maximus Decimus Meridius, commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius. Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next”.

An incredible film, with several great characters, but Maximus is my favorite. He is such a powerful, honorable man. You have to respect and love a guy that goes through all he does, and has the drive and commitment that he continues to put forth over and over again.


keysersoze.jpg5. Keyser Soze, Usual Suspects

Favorite Quote: “The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he did not exist”.

The fact we don’t know who Keyser Soze is until the end of the film doesn’t do anything to make him any less interesting. Keyser Soze is one of the most dangerous people on the planet, and often gets referred to as “the devil, himself”. You can’t help but watch and try to figure out just who this Keyser Soze is. It’s the main reason why Usual Suspects was such a thrilling film.


vincentvega.jpg4. Vincent Vega, Pulp Fiction

Favorite Quote: “I got a threshold, Jules. I got a threshold for the abuse that I will take. Now, right now, I’m a f*ckin’ race car, right, and you got me the red. And I’m just sayin’, I’m just sayin’ that it’s f*ckin’ dangerous to have a race car in the f*ckin’ red. That’s all. I could blow.”

One of the coolest characters of all-time, in one of the best movies of all time. So, obviously, he makes the list.


lester.jpg3. Lester Burnham, American Beauty

Favorite Quote: “Remember those posters that said, “Today is the first day of the rest of your life”? Well, that’s true of every day but one – the day you die”.

Lester Burnham is such a normal, yet completely beyond normal character. He is negative, he doesn’t really care about himself, and he has a family that can’t stand him. But you watch, and you can’t help but like the guy… or is it just that you feel bad for him? Either way, Lester is such an incredibly deep character that you can’t help but be enthralled with.


leonidas_300.jpg2. King Leonidas, 300

Favorite Quote: “Spartans! Ready your breakfast and eat hearty, for tonight we dine in hell!”

Such an awesome character, such an awesome movie. There are so many incredible scenes and so many great quotes that it’s hard to pick out a favorite. Leonidas was very close to becoming my all-time favorite character, but the guy below barely squeaked by into number 1…


juleswinnfield.jpg1. Jules Winnfield, Pulp Fiction

Favorite Quote: [Ezekiel 25:17] “The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the iniquities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he, who in the name of charity and good will, shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother’s keeper and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who would attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee”

In what is my favorite movie of all time, I have to list my favorite character from that film as the top choice on my list. Samuel L. Jackson is also one of my favorite actors, and this is easily my favorite role of his. Such a well written film, I could have listed 20 favorite quotes from Jules. One of the coolest, most confident bad-ass characters in movie history. Jules Winnfield ranks as my all-time favorite movie character.

> Read more ‘Top 10’ lists

10 comments

  1. Honorable mention goes to:

    – Achillies (Troy)
    – Michael Corleone (Godfather 1, 2, 3)
    – Charlotte (Lost in Translation)
    – The Dude (Big Lebowski)
    – Andy Dufresne (Shawshank Redemption)
    – El Mariachi (Desperado)
    – The Bride (Kill Bill)
    – Marv (Sin City)
    – Wolverine (X-Men)


  2. 2 Kevin Spacey characters… Niiice. 2 Pulp Fiction characters… Super niiiice. I dig that your top 10 favorite movie characters are all bad-ass in their own ways. Now, who would win if they were to fight each other?


  3. nice list, not a big fan of DW is training day but othter than that….

    aaron eckhart in Thank You for Smoking comes to mind


  4. The Dude in the Big Lebowski would probably be my favorite. If the list was simply about Bad Ass characters I would have a list almost identical to yours. But since it is not just Bad Ass characters…here is my list.

    #1 Marty McFly – Back to the Future
    #2 The Dude – The Big Lebowski
    #3 Navin R. Johnson – The Jerk
    #4 Jules Winfield – Pulp Fiction
    #5 Bud White – LA Confidential
    #6 Tyler Durden – Fight Club
    #7 Sissi – Princess and the Warrior
    #8 Blondie – The Good The Bad and the Ugly
    #9 Bruce Wayne/Batman – Batman Begins
    #10 Tommy DeVito – Goodfellas


  5. Honorable mentions to
    Travis Bickle – Taxi Driver
    Beatrix Kiddo – Kill Bill
    Zoe Bell – Death Proof
    Alfred Borden – The Prestige
    Edward Scissorhands
    Leonard – Memento
    Bill Munny – Unforgiven
    Indiana Jones – Temple of Doom
    Butch Cassidy – Butch Cassidy and the Sundace Kid
    Cherry Baby – Planet Terror
    Sonny – Dog Day Afternoon
    Phil Connors – Groundhog Day
    Brendan – Brick


  6. Not a bad list. I probably would have put Arnold in there somewhere, though. Dutch in Predator was pretty classic.


  7. This really is a bad @$$ list. Great characters though, and good choices. Morpheus from The Matrix comes to mind as a confident, in-control leader that cold have gone toe-to-toe with a lot of these guys.


  8. I would definitely have to add Aaron Eckhart’s character from “Thank you for smoking” to the honorable mention list. What an excellent character and movie.

    Leonard from Memento, Morpheus- Matrix and Batman from Batman Begins would also be on the honorable mention list for me.


  9. I like your list; can’t really find anything on it I’d really disagree with.

    Here’s my 10, in no particular order (top 5 have asterick instead of hyphen):

    Walter Sobchak (John Goodman), The Big Lebowski
    Bill “the Butcher” Cutting (D. Day Lewis), Gangs of NY
    Keyser Soze (Kevin Spacey), The Usual Suspects
    Doc Holiday (Val Kilmer), Tombstone [how did no one else pick him?!]
    -Maximus (Russell Crowe), Gladiator
    -Officer Wendell ‘Bud’ White (Russell Crowe), LA Confidential
    -Raoul Duke (Johnny Depp), Fear & Loathing in Las Vegas
    -Danny Archer (Leonardo DiCaprio), Blood Diamond
    -Frank Costello (Jack Nicholson), The Departed
    -Darth Vader (James Earl Jones), Star Wars


  10. johnny depp plays Hunter .s. Thomson in fear and loathing dumbass



Leave a Reply

