h1

Spider-Man 3 breaks record

May 7, 2007

spider-man3.jpg

Well, to no one’s surprise, Spider-Man 3 broke the record for the biggest opening weekend of all time, with $148 million. The previous record was held by Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest, with a total of $135.6 million.

That’s a pretty incredible number. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but plan on seeing it in theaters at some point. I just don’t feel like standing in line or sitting in a packed theater at this point. I enjoyed the previous two movies, and although I really like comic-to-film adaptations, I wasn’t extremely impressed with the first two.

I have purposely kept away from reading any reviews, as I don’t like to have my opinions influenced before I see the film. The third installment of the series interests me, as “Venom” was one of the my favorite comic book characters and he is the featured villain of the film. I’m hoping for a pretty good movie, and at best, I’m sure it will definitely be entertaining.

It looks like Spider-man 4, 5 and 6 will happen as well, and you have to wonder if those films will break the record of the latest film. Usually, when it comes to a series, after the third movie the interest tends to decline. I’m not sure when the next film to break this record will be. There are some possibles this summer with the third Pirates film or even Shrek 3.

I’d bet on Pirates of the Caribbean 3: At World’s End to have the best chance at breaking it, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see Spider-Man’s record stand for quite some time.

6 comments

  1. Saw it. Meh. Good action. That’s about it.

    I wouldn’t be surprised if Harry Potter smashes it. Considering the last book and the 5th movie are out within a few days of each other, I imagine it will do big things.


  2. Yeah, but none of the Harry Potter films have come anywhere close to this record. Other than Pirates 3 or maybe even Shrek, I don’t see anything else coming close.


  3. True, but with the release of the final book, I have a feeling this movie will bust open. But I could be wrong.

    I’m really looking forward to the last Pirate’s movie.


  4. I took my kids to see the movie on Saturday. One of the only times I’ve been in a packed theatre. The energy made the film even better. (Movie’s OK, I liked #2 better.)


  5. I hope you do a review once you see it……I like to hear what the non-experts have to say


  6. Yeah, I think I’m going to see it on Thursday, so I should have a review up on Friday.

    I haven’t heard any hugely positive reviews… so going into it without huge expectations may make me enjoy it more.



Leave a Reply

