h1

NHL Playoffs – Round 3 Predictions

May 8, 2007

Western Conference Finals

Detroit Red Wings vs. Anaheim Ducks

This should be a pretty good series. I’ve only been wrong about two series’ this playoffs, and both times it was the Ducks I bet against. I didn’t think they had a deep enough team to make it through. I’m not sure if I want to go against them again, but I have a really good feeling about Detroit this year. They have a very solid team, and their young superstars (Datsyuk and Zetterberg) have been great this playoffs. Lidstrom is the best defenseman in the world, and with him on D, I don’t want to go against them. I’m going to say Detroit in 6 games. Anaheim looked beatable against Vancouver, and I think Detroit is a much better, experienced team and will be make it to the Finals.


Eastern Conference Finals

Buffalo Sabres vs. Ottawa Senators

This is going to be a tough series to call. I’m also unsure who I want to cheer for. My two favorite non-Canuck teams are these two. Buffalo has a great team, but Ottawa seems to have it together this year. They are solid on all fronts, and they might be able to out-battle the Sabres. At the start of the playoffs, Buffalo was my pick to win the Cup, but after seeing the way things have gone so far, I think Ottawa is the better team at this point. I’m going to take Ottawa in 6 games.

Based on my predictions, it will be Ottawa vs. Detroit in the finals. That would be a pretty good series, and I know who I’d take to win it all.

4 comments

  1. I am going the opposite as you in the western and eastern series. Anahiem in 7 and Buffalo in 7.


  2. Good picks Matt, but I’d say Detroit and Ottawa both in 7 games. Sorry to hear about your Canucks.


  3. I’m going with Anaheim simply because I don’t think Chelios and Lidstrom can play 30 minutes a game for the 6 or 7 that it’s going to take to beat the Ducks.
    I’ll go with you and take Ottwa, but I think this series is going to go to 7 unless Emery or Miller pull a “Brodeur”!


  4. i also think Anaheim is gonna beat detroit because of their advantage of size and toughness. But buffalo wont be able to cool down the senators as ottawab is gonna advance to the finals against Anaheim. Anaheim in 7



Leave a Reply

