h1

Movie Review: A Guide To Recognizing Your Saints

May 14, 2007

aguidetorecognizing_dvd.jpgAlthough you wouldn’t call this film a blockbuster by any means, I had still been greatly anticipating it for quite some time. To me, it seemed like Outsiders meets Kids. I knew if it was even half as good as either of those films, it would be a great movie.

The movie wasn’t quite as fast-paced as I expected (well, it’s a drama… it isn’t fast paced at all), but I still enjoyed it quite a bit. For being a “coming-of-age drama”, it was surprisingly quite depressing.

Shia LaBeouf and Channing Tatum are two up-and-coming actors that have really been impressing me with their work as of late. They were great in their respective roles. Robert Downey Jr., although his role is small, did a good job as well. He’s an amazing actor, and now that it seems his personal life is finally coming together, hopefully he can continue to put forth great work.

Also making appearances are Chazz Palminteri, Rosario Dawson and Dianne Wiest.

The film is slower than I would have hoped for, but the acting is great, and it’s a very well put together film. It came pretty close to matching my high expectations. If you’re in the mood for a dark, intense drama, I’d recommend ‘A Guide To Recognizing Your Saints’.

My Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

