h1

The man who destroys dreams has retired

May 24, 2007

brianleetch.jpgFrom TSN.ca:

Star defenceman Brian Leetch officially retired Thursday, ending an 18-year career that featured two Norris Trophy wins and 10 all-star selections.

The 39-year-old sat out the entire out 2006-07 season after spending 2005-06 with the Boston Bruins, when he recorded five goals and 27 assists in 61 games.

In 1991-92, he became only the fifth defenceman in NHL history to reach the 100-point plateau and finished the year with 102 points (22-80).

Leetch is also the only American-born player to win the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP after helping the Rangers end a 54-year Stanley Cup drought in 1994.

Normally, I wouldn’t make mention of something like this, but Brian Leetch holds a special place in my heart. That special place where you hold those most hated and despised.

Don’t get me wrong, Brian Leetch will go down as one of the best offensive defensemen in NHL history, but that doesn’t change what he did to me.

Brian Leetch is one of direct causes to what is probably the saddest of all my childhood memories. He helped the evil New York Rangers defeat my beloved Canucks, back in the 1994 Stanley Cup Finals. I was just twelve years old, but I remember the moment very clearly. Leetch receives a cross ice pass and scores a goal for the Rangers, in what I believe was the third period. I remember crying, and feeling absolutely crushed.

The underdog Canucks were not able to come back, and were defeated 3-2 in that Game 7 by Leetch and the super-powered Rangers.

I will never forget you Brian Leetch. But not for the good things you brought to the game, but for turning that potentially wonderful day into one of the most crushing moments of my life. And I’m sure not just mine, but also millions of other young (and old) Canucks’ fans around the world.

Good riddance.

Leave a Reply

