h1

Remember This… ?

May 25, 2007

excitebike_cover.jpgExcitebike

I’ve never been that into video games. I’ve always had the latest in video game technology, going from Nintendo to Super Nintendo, to Playstation, to XBox and I now own an XBox 360. Still, I don’t think I’ve ever played games that were nearly as enjoyable as those that were released back in the late 80’s and early 90’s.

The games nowadays are beautiful pieces of art. They are difficult, complex and intricately designed, and they look amazing on a 42” Widecreen TV. But in the end, they just aren’t as fun as the games of my younger years.

One of my favorite games of all time is Excitebike for regular ol’ Nintendo. It was one of the first video games I ever owned, and I played it for hours on end. Like most of the earlier games, it was great because of it’s simplicity. Anyone could pick up a controller and get a handle on the game quickly, and enjoy it right from the start.

The game consisted of racing across a 2-D track that had hills, jumps and other various obstacles for you to avoid and/or use to your advantage. You could either do a time-trial or race against a number of opponents. One of my favorites was to race against a bunch of other bikes, and try to knock them off the track by smashing into their rear tire. I’m sure anyone who played the game remembers the fun you could have with that.

You could also build your own track, and make it as difficult as you’d like.

Nintendo 64 released a sequel called Excitebike 64, and there has recently been a second sequel released for the new Wii, called Excite Truck.

Excitebike… you will forever live on in my mind as one of the most enjoyable video games I have ever played.

> Read more ‘Remember This?’ posts

Leave a Reply

