h1

Movie Review: Knocked Up

June 4, 2007

knockedup1.jpg

Last night, I went and saw Knocked Up, the new film from the writer/director of The 40 Year-Old Virgin. For a comedy, it was receiving some pretty decent reviews, so I had pretty high expectations going in. I’d say the film definitely met those expectations.

The film is about a pot smoking, party-loving, unemployed guy named Ben (Seth Rogan), who out of pure luck, ends up having a one night stand with a gorgeous woman named Alison (Katherine Heigl). She ends up getting pregnant, and wants to keep the baby, so the unlikely couple decide on trying to make the relationship work.

The movie obviously has several hilarious situations and many over-the-top sequences. However, like The 40 Year-Old Virgin, it’s not just slapstick humor, it also has a great story. The film remains entertaining from start to finish, as well. There are several laugh-out-loud moments.

Seth Rogan is excellent as the loveable loser, and Katherine Heigl is her usual incredibly sweet and beautiful self.

After recently watched the first two seasons of Grey’s Anatomy, I practically fell in love with Katherine Heigl, and she continued to impress me in this film. She’s a great up-and-coming comedic actress. Paul Rudd was hilarious in his role as well, and the two young kids who play his children (Director Apatow’s real-life children) are so adorable and funny.

If you liked 40 Year-Old Virgin, you will love this movie as well. I found Knocked Up to be a better film, and it’s equally as hilarious.

My Rating: 8.5/10

> Read more Movie Reviews

4 comments

  1. I will read it after I see it

    hoping to this week


  2. I really want to see this, but haven’t had time yet. Glad to hear it’s as good as 40 year old virgin. I also love that kid from “Accepted.” He’s going to be in a new movie called “Superbad” which looks hysterical.


  3. The movie does look good. I think I’ll be going soon too. Glad to hear it’s living up to reviews.


  4. Saw it.
    Loved it.

    your review was bang on.

    Seacrest was awesome.



Leave a Reply

