h1

My Top 10 Favorite Albums (of the moment)

June 12, 2007

I am a music fanatic. I have over 20,000 songs on my computer, all perfectly organized by category and album. Surprisingly, I don’t often write about music on my site, as it’s just so hard to compile lists of music, as picking favorites is nearly impossible.

I decided to try and come up with my Top 10 favorite albums… of the moment. I tire of music very quickly, and seeing as I have so much of it, it’s quite easy to jump from one album to another. However, sometimes albums stick around in my CD player for a lot longer than others.

Here’s the list I’ve come up with…


10. Modest Mouse – We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank

Released: March 20, 2007

My thoughts: I go back and forth on this album. Sometimes I love it, other times I wonder why I even listen to it. There are a few songs on it I’d go as far as saying I don’t even like, but there are also some great ones. It really depends on my mood, but when I’m in the right mood, this is one of my favorite rock albums.

Best songs: Dashboard, Missed the Boat


9. Finger Eleven – Them vs. You vs. Me

Released: March 6, 2007

My thoughts: This CD is not as hard as some of their earlier stuff, but it’s great from start to finish. It’s hard to pick out the best songs, as I listen to the whole CD without changing the song. If I had to pick, “Change the World” would be my favorite song on the album.

Best songs: Change the World, Falling On, I’ll Keep Your Memory Vague, Talking to the Walls


8. Timbaland – Shock Value

Released: April 3, 2007

My thoughts: Super producer Timbaland’s latest CD is filled with guest appearances from Justin Timberlake, Fall Out Boy, Nelly Furtado, The Hives, The Strokes and even Elton John (although why is he only playing piano and not singing?). A great club CD, with a loads of catchy tunes.

Best songs: Give it to Me, Oh Timbaland, Come & Get Me, One & Only


7. Grey’s Anatomy Soundtrack – Vol. 1

Released: September 27, 2005

My thoughts: If you’re looking to sit back and relax, and listen to something mellow this album is incredible. Grey’s Anatomy has the best music on television… they could easily create 10 albums from the music they’ve played on the show.

Best songs: Such Great Heights, Song Beneath the Song, Where Does All the Good Go


6. Immortal Technique – Revolutionary Vol. 2

Released: November 18, 2003

My thoughts: In my opinion, Immortal Technique is the best lyricist alive. He is incredible. He holds nothing back whatsoever on his records, and is one of my favorite rap artists right now. His music is very explicit, so be prepared if you’re looking into checking him out.

Best songs: Internally Bleeding, You Never Know, Peruvian Cocaine, Obnoxious


5. Snow Patrol – Eyes Open

Released: May 9, 2006

My thoughts: This is one of my all-time favorite CD’s. It was released over a year ago, so I don’t listen to it quite as much as I used to, but it’s still very enjoyable as it doesn’t get old. Snow Patrol have such a soothing, relaxing style. The CD is amazing from start to finish.

Best songs: Chasing Cars, You Could Be Happy, You’re All I Have, Hands Open


4. Brother Ali – The Undisputed Truth

Released: April 10, 2007

My thoughts: The most likely rapper is one of my favorites. He’s an albino Muslim, but his sound and lyrics are incredible. It’s not hardcore rap, as his style is more laid back. Saying that though, the album does have some great upbeat potential club songs as well.

Best songs: Uncle Sam Goddamn, Truth Is, The Puzzle, Pedigree


3. City & Colour – Sometimes

Released: November 7, 2005

My thoughts: This CD probably ranks among my top 5 favorites of all-time. It’s somewhat of a depressing disc, but Dallas Green (city & colour… get it?) is one of the best. If you haven’t heard this CD, I highly recommend checking it out.

Best songs: Save Your Scissors, I’m Comin’ Home, Sometimes, Like Knives


2. Linkin Park – Minutes To Midnight

Released: May 15, 2007

My thoughts: I’ve never been a huge Linkin Park fan, but this one has remained in constant play in my CD player since it’s release. The CD is great from start to finish, with not many weak songs. It’s much slower than their previous stuff, which I like much more. It’s not a CD full of singles, as I think it’s meant to be played from beginning to end in one sitting.

Best songs: The Little Things Give You Away, Given Up, Bleed It Out, What I’ve Done


1. Gomez – How We Operate

Released: May 2, 2006

My thoughts: Thanks to the Grey’s Anatomy Soundtrack, I recently discovered Gomez. It’s a bit of a silly name, and doesn’t suit the type of music. I’m not really sure how to categorized him. He has a mixture of mellow, depressing, rock, and alt country all mixed together. All of his albums are great, but this one is the best of the bunch. My favorite album of the moment.

Best songs: How We Operate, Notice, Chasing Ghosts With Alcohol, Charley Patton Songs

> Read more Top 10 Lists

5 comments

  1. not a bad list………I for one look forward to more posts about tunes. I don’t feel so bad, I thought I was overloaded with 10000 mp3s.


  2. good list. i’d add my chemical romance “welcome to the black parade.” i can’t get enough of that album right now. not sure why.


  3. Good list. I wasnt as big a fan of the new linkin park. Not as good as their previous discs. Snow Patrol is a little overblown for me too. Love City and Color, Crisis by Alexisonfire and the newest silversun pickups more. Do these lists more often. Nice choice with Gomez.


  4. Pretty good list.

    ERA VULGARIS by Queens of the Stone Age is no. 1 on my current top 10 list.


  5. gomez is not a guy, THEY are a band…. and yes, they rock. Try ‘In Our Gun’… its there best album.
    I tried some Modest Mouse… not bad. Some of the others albums are questionable, but hey its all about personal opinion right.



Leave a Reply

