h1

Review: The O.C. Season 4

June 15, 2007

theocreview.jpg

I don’t watch many television shows, at least not on the day they actually air. I do, however, own several shows on DVD, as that is my preferred method of viewing. I find when watching shows on cable TV, I don’t enjoy them as much thanks to the many commercial breaks, extended time in between episodes, and not being able to see every single episode withing missing one.TV on DVD was a wonderful invention. I now watch all my shows on DVD. Of course, the one downfall is I have to wait a little longer, and try incredibly hard to avoid hearing spoilers, but in the end, the positives outweigh the negatives for me.

So, this leads me to my review of The O.C.- Season 4. I just finished the final season last night. I enjoyed the first three seasons quite a bit, but not nearly as much as most of my friends who were practically obsessed with the show. Saying that, while finishing the 4th season, I felt this sense of emptiness. Maybe I did enjoy this silly teen drama series a lot more than I thought I did. I didn’t want it to end. Now that it’s over, I want it back. You really become close with the characters over the course of a show’s run.

I found that Season 4 was one of the best season in the series. Season One was excellent, Season Two wasn’t that bad, and Season Three had its moments, although was easily my least favorite. Season 4 is right up there with the opening season. A lot of the story lines seemed fresh, whereas in previous years they got very repetitive. I liked Taylor’s increased role a lot, I liked the addition of Kaitlynn and was happy to be done with the Ryan/Marissa drama that plagued the early seasons.

The show did a good job at happily sending off each character, while also leaving some of the characters future open for you to decide on for yourself. Having it end with Ryan coming across a young boy that resembled himself when the show began, takes the series full circle, and was a perfect way to cap it off.

Season 4 was only 16 episodes, whereas the previous seasons were between 24-27. That didn’t really hurt the show, as the show was less repetitive than it usually becomes.

For those of you that gave up on this show before finishing it, I suggest going back and picking up the DVDs for the seasons you missed. I think you’ll be happy that you did.

Leave a Reply

