h1

This Week’s DVD Releases

June 26, 2007

blacksnakemoan_released.jpg

Black Snake MoanThis film stars Samuel L. Jackson, Christina Ricci and Justin Timberlake. Jackson is one of my favorite actors, so I was looking forward to this one even before I saw any previews. Well, once I saw the trailer, I knew this one was going to be great. It’s about a God-fearing black man and his relationship with a wild and crazy young white woman. This is a movie I’m sure you don’t want to pass up on.

Shooter

I went to order this (as well as Black Snake Moan) on HD-DVD today, only to find out the HD version of Shooter won’t be released until late July. So I guess I may have to wait a while extra to see this, but for those of you who want to see it now… the standard DVD was released today. This one stars Mark Wahlberg, Michael Pena and Danny Glover. Bob Lee Swagger (Wahlberg), a former marksman, gets lured out of retirement when he hears of a plot to kill the president. This looks like your typical, high-action thriller, and I’m veyr excited to see it. I love great dramas, but I love pure exciting blockbusters just as much.

Peaceful Warrior

Peace Warrior stars Nick Nolte, Amy Smart and with Scott Mechlowicz in the lead role (from Eurotrip and Mean Creek). Seeing as Mean Creek is one of my favorite movies, I’ve always been interesting in seeing anything that comes from the stars of that film. This film is about two strangers who meet, and of course this greatly effects the lives of both. It’s a sports drama, that focuses on a gymnist, but it’s not exactly like it sounds.

Gray Matters

The tagline for this film is, “a romantic comedy about a brother, a sister and the girl of their dreams.” Sounds… potentially weird. It’s really not as weird as it could be, as the film is about a guy and his wife, and when his wife meets his sister, the two women fall in love. The film’s a comedy, so there’s sure to be some awkward and funny moments. After originally seeing the trailer, I was looking forward to the film, but it’s nothing but bad reviews, so my interest has declined quite a bit. It stars Heather Graham, Thomas Cavanagh, Bridget Moynahan and Molly Shannon.

Leave a Reply

