h1

My Top 15 Favorite “Classic Rock” Songs

June 27, 2007

tompettyclassicrock.jpg

I love classic rock songs from the 60’s through the late 70’s. It’s some of my favorite music, and every time I listen to it, I’m instantly put in a great mood. I’m not really sure why, as I wasn’t even close to living through the times when these songs were first released, but I still enjoy them as if I was. Maybe it’s to do with the fact my parents used to play them when I was a kid, or that we used to play them before hockey, or just simply that they are great songs.

I’ve compiled a list of my Top 15 Classic Rock songs. The criteria I used was to only include Rock songs released between 1960-1979. I know there are so many wonderful songs not listed here, and I could make another top 15 list that would be filled with songs as equally as good as these.

If you click on any of the song titles listed below, you will be taken to a YouTube version of the song. Most of the videos are of live recordings, so they aren’t exactly the same as the originals, but you get the idea.

Either way, here’s the list I’ve put together. Feel free to list some of your favorites in the comments section.


15. Bob Seger – Old Time Rock & Roll

From the album: Stranger in Town, 1979

14. Kingsmen – Louie, Louie

From the album: Released as a single in 1963

13. Foghat – I Just Wanna Make Love To You

From the album: Foghat, 1972

12. ZZ Top – La Grange

From the album: Tres Hombres, 1973

11. Jimi Hendrix – Voodoo Child

From the album: Electric Ladyland, 1968

10. Stealer’s Wheel – Stuck In The Middle With You (links to the song, but I have no idea what the heck that video is)

From the album: Stealer’s Wheel, 1972

9. Foghat – Slow Ride

From the album: Fool for the City, 1975

8. Bachman-Turner Overdrive (aka BTO) – Takin’ Care Of Business

From the album: Bachman-Turner Overdrive II, 1973

7. Creedence Clearwater Revival (aka CCR) – Down On The Corner

From the album: Willy and the Poor Boys, 1969

6. Guess Who – No Sugar Tonight

From the album: American Woman, 1970

5. Tom Petty – Breakdown

From the album: Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, 1977

4. Lynyrd Skynyrd – Tuesday’s Gone

From the album: Pronounced, 1973

3. Steppenwolf – Magic Carpet Ride

From the album: Steppenwolf the Second, 1968

2. Ram Jam – Black Betty

From the album: Ram Jam, 1977

1. Lynyrd Skynyrd – Sweet Home Alabama

From the album: Second Helping, 1974


> Read more Top 10 Lists

3 comments

  1. Good list. I love all of these songs. Tuesday’s Gone was a good choice; made me think of Happy Gilmore.

    So of course, the reason why people (and me especially) love this site so much is becuase they get to put their lists down. So here is mine.

    15. California – Led Zepplin
    14. My Guitar Gently Weeps – The Beatles
    13. Baba O’Riley – The Who
    12. Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd
    11. All Along The Watchtower – Jimi Hendrix
    10. Wayward Son – Kansas
    9. Cocaine – Eric Claption
    8. Listen To The Music – Doobie Brothers
    7. Simple Man – Lynyrd Skynyrd
    6. Old Man – Neil Young
    5. More Than A Feeling – Boston
    4. Bob Seger – Turn The Page
    3. Gimme Shelter – Rolling Stones
    2. Free Bird – Lynyrd Skynyrd
    1. House Of The Rising Son – The Animals


  2. Awesome list, Tys. I couldn’t disagree with any of those, and probably 10 of the 15 were in consideration for my Top 15. I love More than a Feeling, Cocaine and Baba O’Reilly.

    Now I think they should all be on my list, haha. I thought Cocaine was in the 80’s, but now that I think about it, I guess it wasn’t.

    But yeah, awesome list… “Simple Man” is a great choice, and pretty much the only reason I didn’t include it was because I already had two other Skynyrd songs on mine.


  3. no aerosmith!:|



Leave a Reply

