h1

Movie Review: Ratatouille

July 10, 2007

ratatouilleposter2.jpgI usually don’t go to the theater very often, but this was my second visit in a week’s time. Michaela and I went to see Ratatouille over the weekend. As you may know, from my Top 12 Computer Animated Movies post, that I love Pixar films. Each year, one of my most anticipated films is the latest Pixar release.

They have struck gold yet again with this latest creation. Rats aren’t nearly as lovable as other previous main characters such as toys, cars, fish or superheroes, but somehow director Brad Bird gets you to care about them just as much.

The film centers around a rat named Remy who has a nose for great food. He soon discovers that he loves to cook exquisite meals, but must be in a kitchen to have access to the ingredients he needs. This, of course, is an impossible dream, as everyone knows the biggest no-no for any kitchen is to have a rat among it’s inhabitants.

Remy meets a young man named Linguini, who cannot cook whatsoever. Despite their obvious differences, they form a unique team in order to get the things they are unable to get on their own.

Like all Pixar films, the animation in Ratatouille is unmatched. The story is also wonderful as well. It’s a great family film, that can be enjoyed by any age. I’m 25 years old, and loved it, while I would have no doubts about letting my three year old sister see it, either. Pixar and Disney form such an incredible combination, and are continually releasing incredible films for the whole family to enjoy.

I highly recommend Ratatouille. As far as how it fits in the mix of Pixar’s previous works, well it’s hard to say. I wouldn’t rank it up there with Finding Nemo or The Incredibles, but it probably comes in ahead of Cars and Monster’s Inc. Either way, it’s an incredible movie that is a definite can’t miss film.

My Rating: 9/10

One comment

  1. Not often do I go to the theatre and with my record of falling asleep at the most adventurous of movies, I went to see Ratatouille with my 7 year old nephew Brett and Mandi and stephen and thoroughly enjoyed it. Once in awhile I would catch myself thinking if I actually saw a rat running on my kitchen counters what I would think, but Remy had the biggest and cutes eyes and you could only feel sad for him. Great movie. I enjoyed it!



Leave a Reply

