h1

Movie Review: Turistas

July 23, 2007

turistas-movie-poster.jpgTuristas is about a group of young backpackers that end up stranded in a small town in Brazil after their bus crashes. The film is a horror film, but I’m more tempted to say it fits into the recently popular “gore” category.

I am not a fan of gory films. It all seems so unnecessary, but with the popularity of films like Hostel and the Hills Have Eyes, I don’t think it’s going to stop anytime soon.

Turistas sounded interesting to me, so I decided to check it out, when in most cases I would pass on a film like this one. It stars Josh Duhamel and Olivia Wilde, both of who I am fans of. It also stars Melissa George, who I cannot stand.

The film starts out with some potential. The idea is pretty good, and for the first half of the film I was pretty entertained. Then, we get into the gore. Complete, unnecessary gore. When you are hung over like I was, gore is not something you want to see.

I made it past that, only to be treated to 10 minutes of near darkness on the screen where I could barely tell what was going on. Then comes an underwater chase scene that lasts about 15 minutes longer than it should have.

If you’re into teen horror movies, then I’m sure you’ll enjoy this movie. If not, you’ll probably want to pass on this one.

My Rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

