h1

Review: I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry

July 23, 2007

chuck_and_larry.jpgI Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry is the latest film from Adam Sandler. He, along with Kevin James, play New York Firefighters that pretend to be gay in order to get special tax benefits.

The film also has appearances from Jessica Biel, Steve Buscemi, Rob Schneider, Ving Rhames and Dan Akroyd.

The plot is a little weak, but that doesn’t really matter. The whole point of the film is to have as much uncomfortable situations as possible. And there are a lot.

I went into the film not really sure what to expect. I am really back and forth on Adam Sandler films. I loved the guy when I was 14 and 15, but lately his type of humor annoys me more than it makes me laugh. I am, however, a big fan of his dramatic work. Chuck & Larry is one of the good Sandler films. As funny as he is, however, I found Kevin James to be the stand-out in this one.

And Jessica Biel? Oh. My. God. I’ve never really found her all that special, but holy crap she is about as perfect as perfect gets in this film. Guys, her three minute bra and panties scene is worth the admission alone.

At times, I found the film seemed a little too much like a gay rights commercial, but it didn’t take away from the movie all that much. They film makers worked with gay rights activist to make sure the film wasn’t offensive to gay people. Of course there are a few jokes here and there, but I don’t think you’ll see any gay people complain about the film whatsoever.

It had it’s cheesy moments, and is not a top-notch film, but it’s entertaining throughout, and not often does even five minutes go by without a few laugh-out-loud moments.

If you’re looking to sit back, relax, and be entertained for a couple hours, then Chuck and Larry is definitely a film to check out.

My Rating: 7.5/10

2 comments

  1. And Jessica Biel? Oh. My. God. I’ve never really found her all that special

    Are you sure that you are not gay? Mmm, she’s got an ass and a pair of legs that I’d love to boil with some curry and eat for a snack.


  2. Haha, maybe it was the whole 7th Heaven thing, and I haven’t really seen her in anything else since. But in this one, like I said… perfect.



Leave a Reply

