h1

My Top 10 Favorite Kevin Spacey Movies

July 24, 2007

It’s been far too long since I’ve done a Top 10 List, and I apologize for that. The following list is going to contain my top 10 favorite Kevin Spacey films. You may remember I’ve done this before for Will Smith, Denzel Washington and Nicolas Cage.

There are some Spacey films that I have yet to see, such as The United States of Leland, Beyond the Sea, The Shipping News, as well as a few others, so until I see them, they won’t be listed here.


spacey_forward.jpg10. Pay It Forward

Also stars: Haley Joel Osment, Helen Hunt, Jay Mohr

From IMDB.com: A young boy attempts to make the world a better place after his teacher gives him that chance.

Although it wasn’t very critically acclaimed, and it pushed the sad factor a little too hard, I still enjoyed it nonetheless. This was filmed back before Osment was crashing’95 Saturns, and back when he was still a credible actor. I liked his work back then, and he was pretty good in this film. Spacey was great as the self conscious, depressed teacher. It’s a sad movie, but it’s much better than the critics made you think.


spacey_la_confidential.jpg9. L.A. Confidential

Also stars: Russell Crowe, Guy Pearce, Kim Basinger, Danny Devito

From IMDB.com: A shooting at an all night diner is investigated by three LA policemen in their own unique ways.

You’re probably wondering why this highly acclaimed film is ranked way down at #9. There’s one pretty simple reason. I don’t remember it, and haven’t seen it in 10 years. I was 15 back when I first saw the film, and liked it, but wasn’t too crazy about it. It’s exactly the type of film I would like these days, and I really want to check it out again. It’s likely to be ranked much higher after I see it again, but until now it’s stuck down at number nine.


spacey_kpax.jpg8. K-PAX

Also stars: Jeff Bridges and Mary McCormack

From IMDB.com: Prot is a patient at a mental hospital who claims to be from a far away planet. His psychiatrist tries to help him, only to begin to doubt his own explanations.

I found K-PAX to be an incredibly interesting and enjoyable film. It’s not one of Spacey’s more popular or well-known films, but I’ve always been a fan of it. You don’t often see a sci-fi drama that doesn’t have any special effects or aliens, but this one puts it together wonderfully. Bridges is great in his role as Spacey’s psychiatrist, and they have great chemistry together. A film I highly recommend if you haven’t seen before, and it’s worth checking out again if you haven’t seen it for a while.


spacey_outbreak.jpg7. Outbreak

Also stars: Dustin Hoffman, Rene Russo, Morgan Freeman, Cuba Gooding Jr., Donald Sutherland

From IMDB.com: Extreme measures are necessary to contain an epidemic of a deadly airborne virus. But how extreme, exactly?

It’s quite possibly my favorite “virus outbreak” film, and one of the best ever made. The cast is amazing, and the film is incredibly intense and enjoyable. I remember thinking it was one of the scariest movies I had ever seen… not because it’s a horror film in any way, but because the thought of this ever happening is just terrifying. A great older film (1995) that is sometimes forgotten.


spacey_life_of_david_gale.jpg6. The Life of David Gale

Also stars: Kate Winslet and Laura Linney

From IMDB.com: A man against capital punishment is accused of murdering a fellow activist and is sent to death row.

Creating this list has really shown me how many great Spacey films there are. He really deserves his spot at #1 on my top 10 favorite actors list. I enjoyed this film a lot, as it was something I really hadn’t seen before. It was suspenseful, dramatic, thought provoking, and just an overall interesting film. The movie wasn’t a commercial success, and it seemed to kinda pass by without much fan fare, and I really don’t understand why.


spacey_glengarry.jpg5. Glengarry Glenross

Also stars: Al Pacino, Jack Lemmon, Alan Arkin, Alec Baldwin, Ed Harris

From IMDB.com: An examination of the machinations behind the scenes at a real estate office.

Wow, check out that cast. This is one of my all-time favorite dramas, and it really doesn’t get the credit it deserves. It was critically acclaimed, but somewhat ignored by the public, earning only $10 million at the box office. It’s based on a play, and it almost feels you’re watching one when this one’s on the screen. It’s an absolutely incredible drama, one of the most underrated ones out there. Highly recommend to anyone who hasn’t seen it before.


spacey_negotiator.jpg4. The Negotiator

Also stars: Samuel L. Jackson, David Morse, Paul Giamatti and Ron Rifkin

From IMDB.com: In a desperate attempt to prove his innocence, a skilled police negotiator accused of corruption and murder takes hostages in a government office to gain the time he needs to find the truth.

You know any thriller than stars Jackson and Spacey is going to be good. They are both two of my favorite actors, so it’s a sure bet that this is one of my favorite films. At one point, I even ranked it as my all-time favorite film. It’s a highly enjoyable film, that’s exciting from start to finish. It’s right up there as one of the best thrillers I’ve seen.


spacey_seven.jpg3. Se7en

Also stars: Brad Pitt, Morgan Freeman and Gwenyth Paltrow

From IMDB.com: Police drama about two cops, one new and one about to retire, after a serial killer using the seven deadly sins as his MO.

Se7en ranks 3rd on my list of favorite Kevin Spacey films, and #15 on my list of all-time favorite movies. That says a lot, considering I’ve seen over 2,000 films during my life. Se7en is an incredible film with an amazing cast. Three actors from my favorites list appear in this one. I’ve always really enjoyed and been highly interested in serial killer films, and this is quite possibly the best of them all.


spacey_usualsuspects.jpg2. The Usual Suspects

Also stars: Stephen Baldwin, Gabriel Byrne, Benicio Del Toro and Kevin Pollack

From IMDB.com: A boat has been destroyed, criminals are dead, and the key to this mystery lies with the only survivor and his twisted, convoluted story beginning with five career crooks in a seemingly random police lineup.

It’s my 9th favorite film of all time, and has one of the best endings of any film ever made. A great film, and Kevin Spacey is far above the stand out in this one. A great crime mystery, and one that everyone should see at some point.


spacey_american-beauty.jpg1. American Beauty

Also stars: Annette Bening, Thora Birch, Wes Bentley, Mena Suvari and Chris Cooper

From IMDB.com: Lester Burnham, a depressed suburban father in a mid-life crisis, decides to turn his hectic life around after developing an infatuation for his daughter’s attractive friend.

It’s one of the best films of all time, and comes in at #2 on my list of favorite films. It won many prestigious awards, including Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Writing, Best Directing and Best Cinematography. It’s the film that made me want to get involved in making movies, and in my opinion, the best drama ever made.


More Top Lists:

> My Top 10 Favorite Movie Characters

> My Top 30 Favorite Movies

7 comments

  1. the top 3 are classics anyway you rank them.

    nice list

    I also thought he was good in Superman, Swimming with Sharks and he was one of the best SNL hosts ever.


  2. I was thrown off when you put LA Confidential behind K-Pax and David Gale. I think you need to watch LA Confidential again. Top 3 look good though.


  3. Take a look at “The Shipping Forecast” it is absolutely brilliant


  4. Gosh writing something when you’re dog tired is so stupid! I meant take a look at the “The Shipping News” it is such an underated film. Beautifully acted, it has so many layers, every time I see it there is something new to find.


  5. I love that you have this as a topic because I am a huge Kevin Spacey fan. L.A. Confidential would be higher for me, but yeah, the top 3 are solid. I’m glad someone mentioned Swimming with Sharks. I really liked that movie. I will be putting all of these on my lists http://onmylists.blogspot.com/.


  6. I loved most of his movies but #8 K-PAX is the worst. I just hated it. I loved him in Seven, and the Usual Suspects.


  7. you are an idiot



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

