h1

Review: Arrested Development Season 1

July 26, 2007

arresteddevelopment_s1.jpg

Although I have owned Arrested Development Season 1 on DVD for probably two years, I finally decided on watching it. I had heard it was pretty good, but I was unsure about giving it a try. Well, am I ever glad I did.

This is easily one of the funniest, well put together comedies I have ever seen. The characters are so unique, interesting, quirky and funny, that each episode is extremely entertaining. This family is about as dysfunctional and odd as it gets. It’s almost like Simpsons comes to life, yet funnier and smarter.

The show lasted for three seasons, so I’m very much looking forward to watching the next two seasons. I’m sure the show will only get better. I cannot believe this show was canceled… what a tragedy that is. Then again, Fox seems to have this strange ability to create amazing shows just to cancel them too early (Freaks and Geeks, Firefly, Fugitive, etc).

It’s hard to pick out who my favorite character is. Michael is the very likable main character, and it’s hard not to root for him, considering the family he has to deal with on a day to day basis. His son, unfortunately named “George Michael”, is such a great character. He’s a very odd young man, yet he’s possibly the most normal character on the show.

I am always laughing at Gob (pronounced Jobe). It is so hilariously delusional. He’s one of the worst magicians ever, yet is convinced he’s one of the best.

The person I may laugh out loud the most from could be their Mother, Lucille. Her facial expressions alone just kill me. She is such a stone cold bitch, and like most of her family, is completely delusional as well.

Tobias is someone I always want to see on screen, and it’s unfortunate he isn’t always in every episode. He’s a non-nude? Where do they come up with such magic? He’s so obviously gay, yet completely unaware of it. In the going trend with these characters, he is so delusional as well, and possibly more-so than any other character. He wants to become an actor, and although he can barely even get an audition, he thinks of himself as the next Hollywood superstar.

There are no weak characters, and the rest of the stars such as Buster, Pop-pop, Lindsey and Maebe are all great in their own ways.

If you, like me, never really thought about giving this show a chance, then you are making a huge mistake. This is easily one of the best comedies I’ve ever seen, and although it may not be for everyone, it’s still most definitely worth giving a shot to.

My Rating: 9.5/10

3 comments

  1. Arguably the greatest show that ever graced the Television. So many great shows get cancelled by networks (especially FOX it would seem) that have no idea how to market. How does Arrested Development win best comedy two years in a row and then get bumped nights? The people handling this show were RETARDED and ruined the only show to rival Seinfeld.

    Two of my other favorite shows of all time were cancelled early, Undeclared and the amazing Freaks and Geeks. At least we got three seasons of Freaks and Geeks before the idiots at Fox sent them packing.

    If you loved Arrested development check out http://www.clarkandmichael.com/

    Absolutely hilarious.


  2. glad you finally checked it out, was very sad when it ended.

    Every show I change on who the best character is.


  3. I love Arrested Development. I was heartbroken when it was canceled. It sucks that it didn’t attract many viewers. At least, some people can catch it in DVDs now.



Leave a Reply

